UoB – The Vice-Chancellor’s Awards 2013

vice-chancellor-awards

Friday evening was very special. It was the evening when many people have been recognised for their work, me included. I must admit that I felt very special attending this event. It is just something you don’t do every day, especially as a student.

Everyone was dressed up, the location was gorgeous, and the people there…well let’s just say you don’t get to hang out with them very often. The atmosphere was very posh with our raspberry filled champagne glasses and important conversations happening all around the patio of the Putteridge Burry campus.

We were then lead to the marquee where the dinner was held and the awards presented. The dinner was lovely, with the dessert being the highlight for me and we soon moved to speeches and awards. It is really nice to see that the University staff and students are all working together to improve the student experience. And this is what this event was all about – recognising the merits of people who have gone the extra mile for the students. Lecturers, staff, societies, support teams and students have all received a round of applause for their efforts during this academic year. And even though I have not won an award, it felt really good to be nominated for the Student of the Year award. Having your efforts recognised is a very powerful motivator and I feel that I have enough motivation to move mountains the following year. It makes me want to work that much harder and to do much more for my fellow students.

The organisation of the event was splendid, and the live band was awesome. I hope that I will be able to attend next year’s event and perhaps win an award that time around. I’ll make sure they’ll have a reason to give it to me 🙂

I’ll let you know how it goes. But until then, I wish you a delicious day!

Love,

Maddie.

Share your thoughts

